“The mystery of human existence lies not in just staying alive, but in finding something to live for.” ― Fyodor Dostoyevsky

We all know what will make us happy and successful in the long term, but we often choose the quick, easy & temporary fix.

For example, sleeping in real late ( I’m so guilty of this) rather than getting up and doing things that long term make our life easier &  feel good and less stressed out.

If I write a list of what I really want and what makes me happy, none of them (really) involve lying in every day, it should be a nice treat and I know that deep down.

I think it’s important to write down the things that make you really buzz and feel ALIVE in order to head on the path to your dream life.

So here’s my list.

*Everyone’s is different, but here’s a wee snippet of some of mine*

  • Being around my friends SOBER, giggling a good hearty laugh, hanging out with my boy & the obvious 😉
  • Babbling over numerous cups of tea( especially with my pal Dani, long overdue mate!) for hours on end, and not realising the time.
  • Exploring new places & travelling the world. The beaches, the sun, the language, the flavours. Feeling the heat on my skin, the smell of a tan, and the feeling of freedom and opportunity.
  • Drawing, creating unique art, showcasing your vision of your world. Writing and inspiring.
  • Burlesque, watching performers, performing and creating routines. The buzz of the stage, it gets me every time and I remember why the nerves were worth it.
  • Running & yoga. I bloody love these two things ESPECIALLY. Why am I not doing them regularly?!
  • Eating fresh, healthy, earthy cruelty free food & nourishing my body. This was one of the key factors in my recovery from numerous almost fatal eating disorders and I could not be more thankful for my path on vegan-ism.

We are all connected.

One person making a few changes in their life which alters their happiness & therefore changes their perception of the world without a doubt also affects the people around them.

So, me changing a few aspects of my life can then in turn easily affect my parents life for the better. They know that I feel good and they have one less thing to worry about or feel responsible and more to feel proud of. In turn, surely their friends/partners/relatives/colleagues notice this change and it acts like a sort of  chain reaction. My encounters with everyone would also be much more positive and so it would spread to people they meet & know too.

If I am down and not taking positive steps forward in my life, then when I have say, a negative encounter with a customer at work, then I may be more susceptible to take that personally. If I am truly content and secure, then I will have the clarity and the ability to know that the customers negative actions are in fact not at all my fault or responsibility and therefore will not affect me. In theory, preventing anybody else’s troubles becoming or adding to mine. This makes perfect sense (to me, anyway). I hope you’re still with me.

The best thing to do to be happy and fulfilled is pretty obvious and we all know deep down….

Do the things that make you feel happy and fulfilled.

(On a side note, when I write these things, it’s kinda like I’m teaching myself what I already know,but don’t put into action. I’m not writing this as if I’m a pro and do all these things, but really instead as a collection of my thoughts that I know I need to collect and articulate and share, to help myself. This is my therapy, and hopefully it helps you too. )

So here’s some tips. 

  • If you dislike your current situation, write down things you often do & how they make you feel both long-term and short-term. For example: ‘I work hard all week so I go out on a Friday & Saturday and get absolutely blootered’ (Scottish for drunk, very drunk!) and note how you feel at the time and then how you feel by Monday. Long-term, is that sustainable and are you reaching your goals through repeating that every week? Focus on the ones that make you feel good both short term and long term, they’re keepers!
  • Do you justify your actions because ‘everyone’ else does it.? Truth is, everyone else probably doesn’t. At least not the successful ones.
  • Think of alternatives. If there’s things you can change to give yourself a happy balance, then work on that. Don’t cut out everything you love if it doesn’t have good long-term gain. Go out one night a week instead of two, you’ll appreciate it more, just like that lie in. Change your job to one you enjoy more even if it’s less pay. You’ll be happier in general and not be spending so much money on material crap to try make your life bearable outside of work.

I’ll leave it at that for now, but I’ll maybe revisit this topic again soon!

I hope this helped you to focus on being a wee bit more in control of your life and reaching your goals.

Much love ❤

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

