“That which we persist in doing becomes easier to do, not that the nature of the thing has changed but that our power to do has increased.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

I asked a mate to borrow her ukulele a month ago.

I picked it up and strummed, I was totally rubbish.

But I picked it up again.

And then the next day, again I was drawn in, and intrigued by it.

I’m naturally inquisitive.

As are we all.

Those moments you have between things. Where you’re sitting waiting to go somewhere, or do something. In that time I decided to pick up the ukulele.

I left it outta its case.

In a familiar place.

In my kitchen, where I like to hang out.

I pick it up every time I’m there.

I lose time with her.

I’m not a great ukulele player.

It’s been a month and i can strum it.

I feel free.

And i realise….

I am better at playing this ukulele than I was one month ago.

So imagine a year from now. Imagine 5 years from now.

uke

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a great way to approach your life.

I see that ukulele.

I see the comfort in how I hold her.

I see how strange we were before.

All it takes is your own will.

And

You…

You can be whatever you wish.

The power and the drive is within you.

You can be whatever you want to be.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

