Punching above my weight

Here is a sneaky wee peek of my as yet unfinished thigh piece, it’s still to get dot work shading added and will be extended too cos we ran outta time last week, but I DID really enjoy endure my Valentines gift to myself. I had to go to work straight after with an insanely red hot thigh all night but it was totally worth it! This is a photo of it still healing.

Image

As usual I have a million things I wanna mention….

First off:

On Tuesday night it was my ex boyfriend Alan’s birthday. We are still very close mates,and I’m sure we always will be, plus his family are like blood to me, and some of the funnest & funniest folk I know. Because of some random wisdom teeth removals/hand allergies/work commitments, out of the usual crazy crew, it ended up just being me, Alan and his dad, Ian, being the only ones able to make it out for dinner. We met up in Paisley and went for a train-waiting drink at The Last Post, which is your typical Wetherspoons style pub. We hopped on the train to Glasgow and stopped off at Ad Lib ( http://www.adlibglasgow.com/city-centre/ ) just across from Glasgow Central Station. They have a great mix of food options in their menu, and have really embraced this kinda USA southern comfort food idea, with a menu based on New Orleans style food,  lots of meat and big DIY burgers. I’m quite fussy but I bended my usual choices in order to have a wee bit of fun! We ordered the veg chilli nachos and  the salt & pepper squid for a starter to share between us. The squid was genuinely the nicest squid I have ever had, they had made it beautifully and it wasn’t that chewy yucky way at all, you normally get when you order squid or calamari. In fact it was really nicely presented too. (My phone ran outta battery too so I don’t even have photos!) Next up Alan & Ian ordered rib-eye steaks with onion rings & french fries (they were those lovely salty skinny fries) and I ticked one thing off my bucket list by ordering a full lobster… It’s something I have always wanted to try, and although I don’t eat very much meat at all I had to jump at the opportunity to try it. It was nice (I thought only the claw meat was decent & it was still a bit too creepy for me to enjoy) but now I’ve done it once, I probably wouldn’t do it again!

Image

We enjoyed a bottle of house Merlot, but also dabbled in their cocktail list, which I though was a bit expensive to be honest… £7 a cocktail?! Maybe I’m out of touch, but I work in a bar and I know if you’re ordering a simple cocktail like a Cosmo or whatever, they are not needing to charge that much, especially if you compare it to the price of a spirit mix, when that’s basically what they are with a few extras! Anyway I had the luxury of ordering the boys theirs whilst they were out for a smoke so I got Alan a “Cherry Cola” which was lovely but way too sweet for me, and I got Ian, who loves Jack Daniels, a bourbon based cocktail meanwhile I opted for a classic Jagerbomb. I really love Jagermeister, and the Jagerbombs here were sizeable! 🙂 We all had a great time at Ad Lib, the staff were great and chatty (hot South African waiter made it even better) and although we were the last people in, we didn’t feel pressured to leave, so I’d definitely recommend it! We went to The Steampunk Cafe, Drury Lane, to check it out, and although it was in the process of shutting we got in a half hour of pool and admired the decor.

Image

The bar dude was nice and friendly too and we were on first name terms by the time we left (half an hour later!) We then got a taxi to Nice n Sleazys,(‘cos it was pure heavy rainin’) where there was a Motown club night on downstairs. None of this night was planned and it was genuinely the most fun night out I’ve had in a really long time! We danced ’til 3am full of Black Russians. Our pals came and met us for a good wee boogie as they had tickets for Russell Brand who sadly, at the very last minute casually in a very messiah manner cancelled on no doubt hundreds of people who had altered their plans to try see him perform that night. Alan took me to see him for my birthday so I’ve already seen that show. It was alright. This Tuesday night was better 🙂 Work the next day however…

In other news:

Every Saturday from 12pm I attend a boxing class at Prolife Fitness Centre in Paisley http://www.prolifefitnesscentre.com/

I really love this gym and still go every Saturday for my boxing class even though I had to change gyms as I moved too far away to justify going to it anymore, plus I got plain lazy. The gym I did join is Abbey Mill fitness club http://www.abbeymillfitness.co.uk/ which I like for its simplicity and I hate working out in front of people, so they quieter the better, and as it’s round the corner I can try hit it when it’s at it’s quietest. I pay £5 every Saturday morning though to go to Gary “the heat” Murray’s class at Prolife. It’s supposed to be an hour or so but it is normally quite brutal and sometime runs to an hour and three quarters! At least you’re not being cheated of a workout though! Gary makes the class really fun and we’re always having a bit of a laugh whilst we are throwing the punches.

Image

It normally consists of a (quite intense) warmup, 2 x 3minute skipping rounds, then the gloves go on and we pair off, and make our way round to hitting Gary (the best part if you ask me) then after a good hour or so into the class we will warm down, or so he says, with lots of ab and strength work. It’s a great class and I’d recommend it to anyone who lives nearby. I also need a partner for this coming Saturday as my brother can’t make it…any takers?

Image

Photo above is my sister Cat, My brother Gord and me after a heavy class 🙂

Image

This is taken just after a really tough class. Not physically tough , but mentally. I really struggle sometimes but this class makes me feel strong, powerful and worthwhile. I love it and the banter, and I would recommend it to anyone else suffering from low self esteem ( although, i know you wouldn’t think i do, right)

QUICK NEWS SECTION:

I was guest co-presenter on PSG radio on Monday night  & we had to re record the whole hour long show again after we’d already recorded it  to make it audible for podcast cos a cable wasn’t in right, haha gutted! http://www.psgradio.com It streams 7-8pm every Monday, but if you miss it you can catch the podcasts online every week from the website.

I went out for my bestie Raquel’s birthday on Saturday and we may have frequented the Variety Bar, It was excellent, great night out!

Image

Raquel also has a blog, hers is http://raquelroman.wordpress.com/

She’s a super cute Chicago girl who I met many years ago in a cafe in Paisley, I remember she was so cute I made my boss in the cafe give her a job and from that time we have always been best pals.

Image

I wore this frilly pink bikini top with a striped tight over knee length skirt ( both from G21 @ Asda )  I have been so stuck for outfit options lately for events, I’ve only been able to run to Asda and it has totally surprised me to be honest! Great stuff!I got a beautiful kimono here too last month!

Cute Lola moment:

Image

I have much more to share but I have run outta readable time/space again so I will take a break tonight!

Thanks so much for reading!

Next time I’ve gotta update you on the Sailor Jerry’s competition I won and my home furniture haul!

Will update as soon as I can.

Lotsaaa,  love from Morvs 🙂

email me: punkmorvs@hotmail.com

twitta: https://twitter.com/punkmorvs

instagram: punkmorvs

facebook: facebook.com/hippyhooha

facebook.com/delilahcocklepop

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Punching above my weight

  1. NBA戰績 says:

    Awesome website, thanks a lot !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

